What brings you on this journey?

Fourteen months ago my daughter started eating solid food and I was determined to not give her jar food because it didn’t look or taste like food to me (learned that at my baby shower). I wanted to continue the healthy eating start I gave her through breastfeeding by making wise food choices for her so she would desire healthy foods all her life. Since I had not been eating healthy, my journey to figuring out what a healthy diet looked like began. Fast forward to today and I have decided that a vegan lifestyle would be highly beneficial.

After months of subtracting certain meats from my diet and doing away with dairy in the back of my mind I knew I would be a vegan at some point. The point came sooner than I thought. Last night I watched Food Inc and I although I had assumed that seeing how animals are treated and prepared to become food would be what pushed me to veganism,  there was  something else that I didn’t expect that helped with the decision, the death of a two year old boy from E. coli. All I could think was that could have been my daughter.

So hear I am ready to take on this new way of living and I haven’t even read The Complete Idiot’s Guide on it yet, but if I wait until I feel 100% prepared I may never do it. The great thing about jumping right in is I’m forced to do it instead of just reading about it because that’s the only way we will get to eat.

I’m excited to take on this new way of eating and I have some pretty lofty goals to go along with it. After seeing what changing to a plant based diet can do on Forks over Knives I am hoping I can reverse my nearsightedness in order to reverse all the money that leaves my wallet to pay for glasses.  Also I would like to improve the appearance and health of my skin and hair, to loose belly fat, improve mood, avoid cancer, and to remain healthy and active as I age. From a lifestyle perspective I hope to influence others to make the same choice so all the negative effects from the meat industry can be reduced.

So what brings you on your journey to a healthier you, and what do you hope will be your results?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Posted in Uncategorized

Join in the discussion

