And The Journey Continues…..

This journey to a healthier me has been 10 years in the making. I decided to stop processing my hair with harmful chemicals and wear my hair in its God given natural state back in 2001. During this time, I met others who were not only interested in the health of their hair, but in a lifestyle that cares for the mind, body and soul. Through many conversations with other naturals I became interested in a holistic lifestyle and wanted to learn more. During this time, I realized that health must truly start from the inside out. Thus begin my journey towards natural health.

The biggest push for me to really take a look at my life and become the healthiest person I can be was the day I found out I was pregnant with Sydney. I wanted to make sure I was giving her the best start in life by eating the right foods (healthy fruits and vegetables), plenty of water and taking the proper supplements. I knew when it was time for her to eat solids; I wanted to present healthy whole fruits and vegetables. Really help my toddler understand the importance of eating fruits, vegetables and whole grains. I also knew that if I wanted to be successful in teaching my child how to eat healthy, I had to lead by example, which pushed me to cook more frequently with fresh herbs. Making sure she saw mom eating all the vegetables she was eating and more. Encouraging her to try new veggies like yellow, or brussels sprouts and helping her understand that fruits and vegetables are awesome!

Overall, by teaching my daughter about fruits and vegetables, I’ve taught myself some great lessons about eating the right foods for my body and what a great impact it’s had on my health because of it. It’s a been a process of trial and error, I’m human so I allow my cravings for a chocolate candy bar to take over or indulging in a little late night scoop of ice cream now and then. I’m not perfect and I know that part of being human is allowing yourself the opportunity to make mistakes and be ok with those mistakes. But, when I get off track, I remind myself why I started this journey in the first place. In the end, it’s not just about longevity, but the quality of one’s life. I want to live life being the healthiest I can be not only for myself, but for my family.

Posted in Uncategorized

Join in the discussion

