What’s for lunch? #2

We had Italian Vegetable Hoagies from eatingwell.com. I made it vegan by not including the provolone, but you can use a cheese alternative, I prefer to avoid casein (milk protein) until I look into it further. Also I found on this list that the Albertsons balsamic vinegar does not violate the  California Prop 65 limit for lead, so that’s what I used. Along with the sandwich I had some baby spinach with strawberries and almonds on top. My little one doesn’t like leafy greens ( I have to give them to her in smoothies) so she didn’t get the spinach.

I was expecting this sandwich to have lots of flavor but it seemed as if something was missing but I did eat it anyway. I’ve noticed how some things I eat really have a lot of flavor and it seems like I’m tasting the ingredients for the first time and other times what I eat is just okay. Before if something didn’t taste great to me I wouldn’t eat it (which was probably a good thing since it wasn’t healthy) but now I eat the just okay things because I know it’s good for me and the point of eating is to give my body the nutrients it needs, not to have something to do with friends and family or to make myself feel better after the bad day I’ve had. Since starting this journey to being vegan I look at food differently, I realize that if I’m not eating food that helps my body function properly then I’m only hurting my self.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in What's for Lunch?

Join in the discussion

