How do you handle Cravings?

I had my first craving for something bad today. Up to today I have been craving fruits and vegetables but for some reason today my craving was sugar. Now according to the book Becoming Vegan, I should ask myself how much salt have I had today. Salt can cause sugar cravings due to it tightening the body’s fluids and tissues while sweets have the opposite effect by causing the body to expand and relax. So I did eat out today, I ordered spaghetti squash and after looking up the nutritional information I ate roughly 960mg of salt. Since starting a low-sodium diet I can usually tell when something is too salty so I don’t eat as much of it but for some reason I didn’t this time.

So how did I handle the craving? I went to the store to pick up some vegetable broth for dinner and it seemed that every aisle was filled with candy and desserts. At first I just walked right past those aisles but then I convinced myself that some Twizzlers would be okay. A package of Twizzlers that proudly proclaimed it had no sugar added caught my eye, (craving sugar but went for the no sugar candy, kind of doesn’t make sense) I turned them over to read the ingredients and the next thing that caught my eye was the box warning me that sugar substitutes can be a laxative. One of the ingredients was sugar alcohol, which according to the book Get the Sugar Out, they can stimulate hunger and cause addictive allergies. Also I found that I couldn’t pronounce most of the ingredients, so my desire went out the window as I remembered why I don’t eat things like that.

Have you had any cravings for something you used to have before starting you healthy journey? How did you handle it?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Join in the discussion

