Rule #1 Read Ingredients

Okay so I had to be inconvenienced today as a reminder that when one is on a diet that avoids certain things you must read the ingredients. So I was making margarita pizza for dinner and I needed pizza crust, I wanted the dough that I used before that I really liked from Whole Foods but I couldn’t make it out there, so I was at Target and for convenience just picked up some naan bread. When I got home I was looking at the back of the package to see if it told me what temperature to cook them on and I glanced over a box that said they contain milk and egg. So here it is 15 minutes to dinner time and I have to run out and get pizza crust. I believe I forgot to read them because I had bought naan before, but I didn’t remember that I wasn’t vegan at the time.

A couple of side notes. It is important to read the ingredients and not trust what the front of the package says, that is advertisement to get you to just toss it in your basket without a second thought. Ingredient labels should be checked on everything every time you buy it because ingredients do change. Also the best foods to buy are the ones with only a few ingredients.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Rule #1 Read Ingredients
  1. alyson121 says:

    Ohhh sooo true about reading the ingredient list. Our family spends about 3 hours in the grocery store because of label reading (plus the fact that we’re kind slow LOL). I’m always amazed at what’s in packaged goods once i turn it over and read the label.

Join in the discussion

