I’m vegan and he’s not, how does that work?

It’s hard to prepare animal products for my husband. I see death and suffering when I look at it and it smells and looks unsafe to eat. One day I came into the kitchen and smelled something horrible, then I realized that my husband was warming up sausage and peperoni pizza, I had to move away from the stove because I was getting nauseous. Shopping for and cooking non vegan food is difficult for two reasons; I do not want to participate in harm towards animals and I don’t want to feed my husband things that are not healthy for him to consume. I told my husband that I would continue to prepare non vegan meals for him because I don’t think it is right to make life changing decisions for him. I am grateful that he is supportive of me raising our daughter vegan. Many seeds have been planted throughout my life to bring me to the decision to be vegan. He has not had those same experiences so I can not expect him to come to the same choice at the same time as me. As I person that spent almost 30 years of her life eating meat, eggs, and dairy I can’t look down on him (or anyone else for that matter) because I made the decision to stop eating it before he did.  If he became vegan just because I forced it on him I believe it wouldn’t last because he wouldn’t have his reasons for doing it. My hope is that he will come to the decision on his own after watching my example and seeing that I am not miserable because I don’t eat meat.

Do I feel deprived as a vegan? No I don’t. I don’t miss the taste of non vegan food and it just doesn’t look good to me. Sometimes I make vegan food that I don’t like but it doesn’t make me want to go back to what I was eating just because it would be easier, the only reason it is easier is because I was a meat eater longer, so with time whipping up scrumptious vegan meals will be effortless. When I ate a hamburger I didn’t like I didn’t switch to vegetarian or veganism. So it just takes some time to adjust and the only way I learn what is good is by trying new things. I’m honest about my recipe blunders in an effort to help others learn from my experiences and to let people know that if they are transitioning to this lifestyle and having some troubles that they are not the only one so don’t give up because it hasn’t been perfect for you. I’ve been surfing some vegan blogs and came across some yummy looking dishes, so I am going to work hard this week to get a finished grocery list exploring different foods.

Is your mate supportive of your healthy choices?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with:
Posted in Vegan Life

Join in the discussion

