Grocery Shopping

Hello all, I have been super busy cooking so I have some catching up to do on the blog.

I went to the grocery last week and I’m so proud of myself because I went with a list full of items that I needed for some good looking recipes and I was able to make it to all three stores that I needed to go to.

I go to the grocery store a few times a week for produce and to replace things we unexpectedly run out of but I do major shopping twice a month. At the beginning of the month I buy what I need to make dinner for the whole month since I freezer cook and I spend the first week of each month preparing dinners. I also buy at least enough breakfast and lunch to last for two weeks. So the focus of the grocery shopping for the second half is breakfast and lunch.

This time when I went shopping I was more organized than previous shopping trips. Usually when I go I have a complete list for dinner but not much in the areas of breakfast and lunch but this time I had a almost complete list and I am pretty confident I can use what I bought to throw together some more meals where I fell short. I was able to find some good recipes online over the past few weeks due to last month being Vegan Month of Food. So I made of a list of needed items to complete the recipes along with how much of it I needed on one sheet and on another I listed the title of the recipe, where I got it from, and the list of ingredients I would be buying for it. Since I only buy produce a few days before I’m ready to use it, having this second list helps me know when I need to go buy the perishable items to complete the recipe I am making. Then I took the grocery list and re-wrote it organizing the items into columns according to where they are found in the store: bulk, produce, freezer, etc. By taking this extra step I was able to spend less time shopping because I didn’t stand in the aisles going over my list trying to make sure I’ve gotten everything I needed from this section, only to find later that I forgot something so I have to go back.

I shop at three stores in order to save money. I buy large bags of fruit for smoothies and other items that we use at lot of like bread from Costco, the majority of our vegan food comes from Ocean Beach People’s Organic Co-op, and I get hubby’s food and some convenience items, like already cut onions at Fresh and Easy.

By writing down a weekly menu not only do I know when to pick up produce but I also place meals together that can share ingredients and I know ahead of time what I need to pull from the freezer to thaw.

What a great start for World Vegan Month.

So you want to see what I bought?

What do you do to prepare to go grocery shopping?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Join in the discussion

