Learning how to workout

Time for a fitness update. Sorry I haven’t been able to keep you all up to date on what I’m learning/doing concerning my fitness. I am trying to learn how to balance doing everything I’m doing with writing about it. So let me recap what is going on.

Last month I focused on working out my abdominal muscles, so what I did was work that area every time I worked out and threw in some other strength training as well. I learned that that wasn’t a very good plan. I read the Crunch Fitness guide book Beginners Luck, which tells you how to have a plan for working out instead of just going to the gym and picking random machines to work on like I was doing.

After a month of isolating my abs I could see some definition but I noticed that my abdominal area was sticking out more than normal. I read in Fitness RX that you can’t spot treat the fat on abs so what I ended up doing was making the muscles bigger so it pushed out the fat I had and it is making me appear bigger. I was disappointed, after all that hard work I just created a low baby bump and it’s not even a cute one. But the good news is that I got over it quick. From what I’ve read it seems like it’s really diet that gets you flat abs so you don’t have to do many if any ab exercises unless you are trying to get a 6 pack. I had came across an online article from T-Nation (warning a couple of the pictures are risque) about how women should work out to get a nice feminine physique. The first time I read it I don’t think I fully understood it, but after making myself look more like the third picture of Brittney Spears I finally got it.

At the end of last month I had started a routine of switching between upper body and lower body strength training according to the plan options suggested in the Crunch Fitness guide. But a couple of days ago I decided to switch to the plan from the T-Nation article, but I will leave out the crunches because I don’t want to push out my belly anymore and I will continue with my normal vegan diet. I used an online body fat calculator to get an estimate of how much fat I have so I can make sure I have enough time to reach my goal by my birthday.  According to the smallest number I was given I should reach my goal in four months. So feeling confident I can still reach my goal, I got over the fact that I had a setback.

I started a fitness log so I can track my progress and start working on some non vanity related fitness goals.

What have you learned recently that is helping you to reach your goals?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Fitness

Join in the discussion

