What is your body type? And how does it affect your workout?

I learned that my body type is ectomorph (follow the link to find out your body type), which explains a lot. When I was younger I worried that I was underweight because my ribs were visible. Now that I am back to that weight and familiar with BMI I know that I am within the healthy range and that bone visibility is just the plight of an ectomorph (yes we all have our issues). Due to my body type, during my pregnancy people referred to me as just being belly and even after having my daughter and still carrying some of the weight I gained, I was still viewed as slim. I didn’t mind the extra weight, besides my tummy, because I felt it made me look healthier. Now that I am back to being long and lean, (for the most part), I feel attractive yet scrawny at the same time. So I realized that I want a more muscular look than I originally thought. After doing the T-Nation exercise program for almost 30 days I noticed that my butt is more lifted and my quads have more definition but that my biceps seem smaller. I’m currently taking a break from working out but I am working on putting together a fitness plan that works all muscle groups instead of just focusing on the ones that are considered more feminine. By doing so that will give me a more balanced look and help me avoid injuries from having weaker under-worked muscles. I am taking a break because I think I overdoing it, as an ectomorph it takes my body longer to recover but I was only giving my body one day a week of rest. I also need to be careful because it is easier for me to get injured. Also due to my body type my metabolism is fast and personally I’m not a big eater so with all the cardio I was doing I think it was taking away from the muscle I developed instead of fat.

Here I am at 32 weeks pregnant 162 lbs.

At the end of pregnancy I was 172 lbs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Month before I started working out, 136 lbs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now 121 lbs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

23% body fat

 

 

 

 

Finding out my body type was very beneficial. I’m glad to learn that once I get that belly fat gone that it should be easy to keep it off. What is your body type and how does it affect your workout?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Posted in Fitness
2 comments on “What is your body type? And how does it affect your workout?
  1. Great post! Your arms look great & it’s good to listen to your body and give it a break. Fortunately you can still be active like walking, playing with your daughter, etc while resting!

Join in the discussion

