Me and gluten aren’t getting along

So I have gotten ridiculously behind on my food posts so I have decided I can no longer wait to get you all updated on my diet changes. I will continue to post my old pictures and just tell you how I would modify it so I can eat it on my current diet.

Since keeping a food journal as part of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer I’ve learned that bread causes me to bloat so I stopped eating it and pasta. Later on I learned that it is the gluten in those things that can cause people problems and that oats are easily cross contaminated with wheat. At that point a light bulb went off in my head shining light on why I still don’t have a flat belly, I eat oatmeal every morning. So I stopped buying my oats in bulk and switched over to Bob Mills gluten free oats, (I wanted to come up with something new to eat for breakfast but hey I have to take baby steps). In the first few days of doing so I noticed my abdomen getting smaller and I felt lighter, like the lightness I felt when I stopped eating meat. After being gluten free for a little under a week I got sick, I felt heavy and experienced flatulence. I realized that some food I had bought pre made had been packaged in a factory that also packs wheat. I was so upset I had read the ingredients but didn’t read the print that stated that. So since then I haven’t felt well. I went to a presentation on gluten last night and she talked about how the damage that is done to your gut from gluten if you have a sensitivity can cause one to become sensitive to other foods that are eaten on a regular bases and she listed corn. Another light bulb went off, after me and my daughter got sick from eating corn I stopped eating it because it causes inflammation. Well I had stopped eating regular corn but was actually eating corn flour in my new favorite gluten free chips, Lundberg and I eat popcorn everyday. Thanks to keeping a food journal and taking notes on how I feel I’ve analyzed my diet more and feel I may be having a hard time digesting nuts also, which I admit I over indulge in. So with my goal date of having a flat belly quickly approaching today is the start of my stricter elimination diet, that means no forms of corn or nuts and I’m even avoiding seeds to be on the safe side. The speaker last night said that once your gut heals most foods that you have eliminated can be reintroduced. Despite eliminating foods I’ve become accustomed to eating I’m feeling good about my decision. I used to love popcorn and nuts but I got burnt out on them and continued to eat them as a filler and just out of habit. So this new diet will force me to venture out to make new foods and eat more vegetables. I love how a vain goal is helping me get healthy.

(Side note, this is a rough post done on my iTouch so I could get it up, so hopefully there are not many errors.)

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Me and gluten aren’t getting along
  1. That’s the power of a food journal and label reading is your friend. So glad you’re finding the answer to your health issues. With IBS I have unexplained bloating which is frustrating. Corn is also a trigger food for me but after avoiding it for a month or so, I’ve been able to reintroduce it once a week. Good luck in your new journey. Of course, if you have any questions, I’m available 🙂

    • Afronique says:

      Thank you. The one thing I am trying to figure out is how will I know when my gut has healed? I was thinking when all the symptoms go away but that could be confusing if the symptoms are also due to something else, I’m still exposing myself to.

Join in the discussion

