Update on Birthday Goal

So back in August I set the goal to feel comfortable in a bikini on the beach for my 30th birthday which is today. Here is my before photo from last July. (Don’t mind the face, I was at Alcatraz, you are not supposed to smile in jail photos right?)

Here is a picture of me from last week when I got dressed up for my birthday dinner.
Have I transformed my body, yes, but I’m not where I wanted to be. Unfortunately my belly is still not flat. In all honesty I am really disappointed, I worked really hard, gave up a lot and feel I set a reasonable goal. It would be one thing if I only worked out a little and was in the donut shop every week, then I would be like okay what can I expect to happen. Loosing the belly fat was hard so I was very discouraged when I finally lost the fat but yet my abdomen still stood out. I researched and tried many things “knowing” it would solve the issue but none of them did. At this point I believe it is gluten intolerance that is causing the problem so other than continuing to avoid gluten and other things that I am have trouble disgusting there is really nothing I can do but wait for my gut to heal and I have no idea how long it will take. I’m really hoping that I am right this time, I’m not sure how much more of this guessing game I can take.

Despite being down about my abs I did go to the beach as planned in my bikini. The good thing about the fat being gone is that I can suck in my stomach and no one can tell that my stomach really isn’t flat because my muscles do show some nice definition. It wasn’t the way I pictured my big birthday bikini beach day to be but I did reach my goal. My goal was to feel comfortable and I truly did.  I think I was smiling the whole time, it was really liberating to be on the beach in beachwear, it means a lot to be comfortable in your skin. When I thought about my dilemma some more I realized that of all the areas of my body to dislike my stomach is the easiest to disguise, if I still didn’t like my legs there is no way to suck or tuck them in. So in the end I am proud of myself and I know that I did everything I could to reach my goal.
No bikini shot, lol.
Have you ever been disappointed that you didn’t reach a goal that you worked really hard to reach? How did you handle it?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fitness

Join in the discussion

