How I dug myself out of a fitness rut

So after completing Jamie Eason’s LiveFit trainer I was fatigued and burnt out on having a strict weight lifting schedule. So I went back to my Zumba class and started a flexible workout routine using exercises I pulled from Oxygen magazine and also got back into beating up my boxing bag. I was having fun working out again but then I noticed I was slacking by no longer pushing myself in the gym. I couldn’t let that continue so I became a bodyrocker. I became intrigued ofbodyrock.tv awhile back, saving workouts on my playlists on YouTube but hadn’t really done any. I started doing random videos but needed more structure so I began the May 30 day challenge. It’s awesome, very intense, at first I didn’t enjoy pushing myself so hard but I’ve come to enjoy it. I love how I feel after and since I want to shorten my workout time doing 12 minute routines are great. Doing short intense workouts allows me to not have to do separate cardio, which I value. Only being on week two I notice a difference in my physique, like leaner legs. Lisa-Marie has a great motivating personality and I think we have the same body-type so I look forward to looking more like her. This challenge even includes yoga which is something I have wanted to include in my routine for the flexibility but I haven’t made the time for it because I prefer lifting weights. So I am excited to see how my endurance and flexibility increases. I will not finish the challenge in 30 days because I have allowed some flexibility in my routine so that I can include group workouts. I started doing Crossfit, which is also awesome it’s going to be another endurance builder. I like how it’s functional, the movements will help me be able to do my everyday things. Another thing I like is the bad a** aspect. When I saw a video of a woman hitting a tire with a sledge hammer I was like I wanna do that. I’m a bit of a girly girl but I tip more towards my hardcore side, that’s why although I enjoy yoga and Pilates I prefer pumping iron. So for my girly side I still do Zumba the class falls right after Crossfit which I find makes the class more intense and makes me push harder because I had gotten relaxed in that class. Also I have a fitness group that I am a part of that I workout with once every two weeks. I’ve also lead a warmup for the group (whoo hoo, future personal trainer?)

What do you do when you get in a fitness rut?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fitness

Join in the discussion

