What’s for Dinner? Adzuki Bean Burger

Tired from vacation I wanted something for dinner that I didn’t have to put together so I picked up Hilary’s Eat Well Spicy Green Chili Adzuki Bean Burger. Some of the ingredients other than the adzuki beans of course include: quinoa, millet, coconut oil, sweet potato, psyllium husk powder, arrowroot and apple cider vinegar.

I cooked it on the stove with coconut oil. I like it, it had an unexpected familiar taste but I’m not sure what the flavor was. My daughter didn’t care for it, maybe because she is not use to processed food. We’ve also had the veggie burger and she ate that one, some maybe her palette adjusted. It reminds of when she was a baby and I gave her some store bought baby food instead of the homemade and she wouldn’t eat it. I’m so happy to have a child that prefers non-processed healthy food. Another cute thing to share about my daughter; she got her first dollar from her grammy and guess what she wanted to buy, a kumquat. People ask me how I get her to eat so healthy. I tell them she’s been eating this way the majority of her life. I think the issue some parents have of getting their kids to eat healthy is that non healthy food is the norm so the taste of fruits and vegetables is just too foreign compared to the salty sugary foods they are accustom to. I also get asked what will I do when she grows up and wants meat and dairy. I find interesting  that people assume she will feel deprived and must have those items. I don’t think anyone wonders if the kid that ate fast food everyday will come home one day asking for some squash. Most of us eat the way we grew up, it took me almost thirty years to change the way I ate. Okay I’m done being controversial. 🙂 What do you think?

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in What's for Dinner?
3 comments on “What’s for Dinner? Adzuki Bean Burger
  1. alyson121 says:

    Love adzuki beans, made ice cream with some but never thought to make a burger. I’ll have to do some “test kitchen” stuff to see how it tastes. 😉

Join in the discussion

