Indian Food Haul

So I went to an Indian grocer for the first time today. I came across a chickpea recipe that I wanted to make but I didn’t have the spice for it. I don’t believe I have ever had Indian food before, becoming vegan has opened me up to try new types of food. I enjoyed browsing through the different foods and my daughter kept handing me items she wanted to try. So here is what we came home with.

20120817-200907.jpg

20120817-201138.jpg

20120817-201524.jpg
I got a couple of ready made items so we could try something for lunch, which was Dal Tadka and Daal Pakroras. The spices I needed for the Indian chickpeas: Garam Masala and Chana Masala. I also bought some Chunky Chat Masala* to season some okra. I needed some dried beans since I stopped shopping in the bulk bins due to my gluten intolerance so I bought the garbanzo for my recipe and some toor dal, which my daughter picked out. I was told you use the toor dal like you would lentils. I’m excited to try everything.

Have you ever ventured out to a specialty grocer to “spice up” the foods you eat?

*Update 8/19/12 MDH Chunky Chat Masala contains asafoetida which may contain wheat. I am trying to get a hold of the company to find out.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Indian Food Haul
  1. […] Journey To A Healthier You Striving for a better quality of life Skip to content HomeAbout ← Indian Food Haul […]

  2. […] containers spices can become contaminated. I switched to buying bags of beans from Costco and the Indian grocer I visited the other day but they also process gluten products. I knew that the Co-op was not gluten […]

Join in the discussion

