Smoothie Feast Day 1

I woke up this morning to find that the list of smoothies on Rochelle’s blog is now password protected. I hope it isn’t because I linked to it. It’s disappointing and a set back for me since I no longer have the recipe of the smoothies I planned to make today but the feast will go on.

This morning I had a eight ounces of water and sixteen ounces of apple ginger smoothie adapted from Rochelle’s blog. I made ginger tea last night then blended half of the ginger with a little of the tea with 1 cup lemon juice, 1 pink lady and 2 golden delicious apples, 2 ripe bananas, 6 kale leaves, and 4 tbs. of light agave. It was a bit tart and I felt an interesting sensation while drinking the smoothie, due to the ginger I believe, and it got things moving out, right after I drank it (if you know what I mean). My daughter is eating solid food but she got a sample of it and she liked it.

20120822-100325.jpg

For my second meal I had sixteen ounces of water and twenty ounces of kale orange ginger smoothie, again adapted from the above mentioned blog. This one turned out not as tart since I only used 1/2 cup of lemon and it was frothy. Along with the lemon juice the smoothie had 4 kale leaves, two peeled and seeded oranges, 2 cups of ginger tea, 1 ripe banana, and 2 tbs. light agave.

20120822-124933.jpg

I’ve been hungry throughout the day but I started out hungry because I didn’t eat my fifth meal last night and I didn’t have my smoothies prepared for today. With the constant trips to the restroom to potty train my daughter I had a hard time keeping the smoothies coming.

I continued the rest of the day drinking sixteen ounces of water along with sixteen ounces of the above smoothies for a total of four servings of smoothies and seventy-two ounces of water. For my last meal right before bed I had some mushroom soup that I prepped for tomorrow, so I will share more about it then.

Tomorrow will go a little smoother because I have most of my meals prepared. One thing I struggled with today was resisting the urge to taste the food I was cutting up for the blender. I was also uncomfortably cold today, I am not use to consuming a lot of cold foods and my water is usually room temperature because it sits out so long before I drink it. Energy wise I can’t say I had more or less but I was able to maintain my normal activities despite only getting four hours of sleep last night. I was advised to take it easy as far as my fitness level is concerned so I just did some light yoga.

Be sure to follow me on twitter and instagram for more highlights and photos of my feast @itsafronique.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Gluten Intolerance, Smoothie Feast, What's for Breakfast?, What's to Drink?

Join in the discussion

