Smoothie Feast

So I have decided to embark on a new journey towards healing my gluten intolerance, a smoothie feast. I feel like I have reached a plateau in the healing process so I have been trying to figure out what could be the issue. After thinking about the possibilities and going back over my food dairy I came to the conclusion that I am still getting gluten in my diet due to cross contamination. The deli at People’s Co-op is not gluten free and after contacting some of the companies that process the packaged food I buy, I found out that most also process wheat. Although I stopped purchasing beans and grains from bulk I was still buying spices in bulk which is risky because some spice blends include flour so if the same spout is used to pour them in individual containers spices can become contaminated. I switched to buying bags of beans from Costco and the Indian grocer I visited the other day but they also process gluten products. I knew that the Co-op was not gluten free but I had eaten there so often and hadn’t noticed the symptoms of bloating, flatulence or an ill feeling so I thought everything was fine. Looking back over my notes I did have days were I got unexplained rashes, my clothing fit tighter, I experienced flatulence that I accredited to other things and I even a day where I just didn’t feel like myself.

So in order to be positive that there is no gluten in my diet I am avoiding eating out and packaged foods that do not state that they are gluten free. I don’t think I was taking my intolerance as serious as I should have, so now I am going to act as if I have Celiac by avoiding any questionable food. I also have an intolerance to dairy and due to the damage gluten has done I can not digest nuts so I feel it is a good idea to avoid food that may have come in contact with those products also. So in order to meet those requirements I am going to stick with a diet of mostly fruits and vegetables.

At first I was concerned of how I was going to put fruits and vegetables together in a way that would be satisfying especially since I work out so intensely but I recalled reading about a feast that Kareen of IamEatingRight did where she mentioned not feeling hungry. I also goggled smoothie feast and came across Rochelle’s blog which has a nice reference page of what she ate each day and she shares how energetic she felt. It looks as if I will be using a great deal of her recipes and will be trying a smoothie feast for two weeks. I plan to do two weeks because it is recommended that you try a gluten free diet for at least that long to see if it’s helpful so if I am successful in getting over my plateau I think it should happen in that time frame. By having smoothies instead of solid food I will be giving my body a break from digesting food so I hope that that will allow it to just focus on healing and then when I reintroduce solids I can retrain it. I hope to blog about this journey daily but at the very least I will try to check in on instagram and twitter. (Yay I have an iPhone) You can follow me @itsafronique. I have already posted some photos. I’m excited to embark on this journey.

Disclaimer: I am not a medical expert, this blog is a place to share my journey not medical advice. My suggestion for anyone suffering from gluten intolerance or any other ailment is to seek help of a professional, not only will they ensure you are getting the nutrients you need but they will be able to help you figure out what is best for you so you don’t have to play the guessing game like I am doing.

On that note I need to get in the bed, it’s potty training time at my house so I need all the rest I can get.

Update: 8/22/12 Rochelle’s website no longer has the recipes, you must purchase her ebook to obtain them.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Gluten Intolerance, Health, Smoothie Feast, Uncategorized

Join in the discussion

