Visit with Gastroenterologist

So here is what I learned at my doctor’s appointment. I better understand the difference between Celic and gluten intolerance. With Celic damage is done to the intestines but with intolerance one just has symptoms. Water sitting with undigested food and gas cause the abdomen to distend. I don’t have an allergy to gluten I just don’t have enough enzymes to digest it. So how much of it I can tolerate just depends on how many enzymes I have and can vary from day to day. He said gas is normal with vegetarian diets due to all the fiber so it is not harmful. He confirmed what I read that it does take two to eight weeks for symptoms to go away.

I got a blood test for Celic and allergies. The Celic one will probably be negative since I haven’t had gluten in awhile and I was told by a naturopath that the big labs gluten testing is not as good at detecting it as the small ones. I figured I have nothing to lose so I got it done anyway.

He recommended that I see a dietitian, which I think is a great recommendation and I know a pretty cool one but my insurance doesn’t cover it.

Overall it wasn’t a bad visit, I did learn something and I didn’t get any reprimanding for being vegan, which I was expecting. Basically I just need keep doing what I’m doing, keeping a food diary and symptom log to figure out what foods cause me issues.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Gluten Intolerance
2 comments on “Visit with Gastroenterologist
  1. Hey there girl! Glad to hear the appointment went well. If you would like, you can send me an email with any questions you have.

Join in the discussion

