Road trip snacks

Today I’m driving up to Santa Monica, I’m excited to get a mini vacation and check out some vegan and raw vegan restaurants in the area. Seems like they have a lot to offer and as someone who hasn’t been able to eat out for months there is a lot I want to try. Although I will be indulging I am going to do my best to stick to the food combining rules I have been following. Since stopping The Body Ecology Diet I have made a lot of exceptions to those rules and I’ve felt bad for it. I came to realize that the aftereffects of making poor food choices for my body last longer than the satisfying my taste buds feeling. I have learned a lot about how my body responds to different food in the past two months and I’m ready to make some lifestyle changes so I feel my best. So one thing I’m doing for my trip is bringing some homemade snacks. I’m bringing some fruit to eat first thing, then I’ll have some chili roasted chickpeas, cauliflower popcorn and some fermented kraut.

Chili roasted chickpeas

20121102-214400.jpg

These are really good, I’ve made roasted chickpeas before but they didn’t have a nice flavor and I had trouble getting them to get crispy without burning. I followed the recipe except I did roast them on 450 for about 20 minutes and although some look burnt they tasted fine.

Cauliflower popcorn

I can eat a whole head of cauliflower when I make this.

Be sure to follow me on Instagram to see what I’m eating @itsafronique

20121103-094135.jpg

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Beans & Legumes, Gluten Intolerance, Vegan Life, Vegetables, What's for Snack?

Join in the discussion

