Raw donuts

A vegan gluten free donut that is not fried and not even cooked, oh my. Recipe from Raw Star Recipes by Eco Chef Bryan Au. I picked up his uncook book from Euphoria Loves Rawvolution while I was in Santa Monica.

20121108-083814.jpg
These donuts are made from bananas and flax so they are guilt free, therefore I ate them all. To my batter of three small bananas I added one tablespoon of coconut nectar. I was a little short on flax so I refrigerated the formed donuts to harden and refrigerated again after adding the coconut oil, more nectar and toppings. I added cinnamon or pumpkin to a few, added chia “sprinkles” to one and left the rest as glaze. My favorite was the glaze. It was nice to have some coconut nectar on hand for dipping.

20121108-090925.jpg

This was my first time using coconut nectar. According to the bottle it is a raw enzymatically alive product with a low glycemic index, made from the sap that exudes from coconut blossoms.

20121108-092830.jpg

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Raw Vegan
2 comments on “Raw donuts
  1. […] Raw Star has two pizza crusts recipes and I’ve tried both and added 1/2 tsp fennel and 1/4 tsp each dried oregano and thyme. For the pepperoni pizza crust recipe I use almonds I’ve processed in my food processor or leftover almond pulp from making almond milk. I use my oven to dry out the crusts even though the Hawaiian recipe says it doesn’t need to be dehydrated. I put it on 200 degrees and keep the door open. […]

Join in the discussion

