Pumpkin almond butter

I like making foods from scratch, of course it is more time consuming than just picking something off the shelf, but I like the ability to include what I want and leave out the rest. For instance I have never seen an almond butter spiced with pumpkin so I made one. This recipe was inspired by Jill Hanner . I veganized the recipe by using coconut nectar instead of honey and made some other changes. Here is my recipe:
1 cup soaked overnight almonds, rinsed then roasted
6 Tbs coconut nectar
6 Tbs virgin coconut oil
1/4 tsp pink salt
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
Process ingredients in food processor until creamy.

This turned out great, I really love the flavor and texture. It is tasty alone or sandwiched between some bananas.

20121109-083513.jpg

20121109-083528.jpg

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Nuts and Seeds
2 comments on “Pumpkin almond butter
  1. […] needed something for my pumpkin almond butter and I’m trying to include flax in my diet. The recipe is from Raw Food by Erica Palmcrantz […]

Join in the discussion