My 30 day smoothie feast experience

My second smoothie feast has come to an end and before I share what my experience was, here is a video I recorded during the feast.

I’m proud of myself for staying disciplined to do a smoothie feast for thirty days. (I will admit the last couple of days I did start introducing a few bites of solid food.) But overall I stuck to smoothies even though I went away for a weekend and my blender broke.  (If you aren’t following me on Instagram, I have a Vitamix now, whoo hoo, something good came out of it.) A great thing from doing the feast was seeing my abdomen get really small, so it gives me even more hope that I can get it all the way flat.

Although my belly got pretty flat at one point in the end its not the flattest it has been and I believe that is due to not following 80/10/10 by not eating vegetables, since switching to mono-smoothies. I learned I only do well for short periods of time just eating fruit. Since going back to solid foods and increasing my calorie intake, I also believe my belly will be larger as my stomach stretches to adjust to the volume of food I need to eat, (which for my goal weight is 2600 calories), and the larger amounts of fiber and water that I will be taking in.  Although I increased my daily calorie intake from the last time I did a smoothie feast,  I didn’t always get enough calories so I feel like I’ve set myself back as far as my goal of trying to put on muscle and getting used to a higher calorie intake. I feel like thirty days was a bit much for me. Towards the end of the feast I really wasn’t satisfied with smoothies therefore I did start eating some solid food. Since going back to solid food I wasn’t able to transition the way I would have liked,  I have had a hard a time restricting what I eat because I was very adamant about avoiding hybrid fruits and doing mono-smoothies (one fruit only with water),  and because I went so long without solid food. So I have been doing things that I know don’t work well for me, like eating a lot of dried fruit, bad food combining, and introducing new or previous problem foods too quickly so that I’m not able to see how they affect me. I was really excited to eat but now I’m feeling yucky, not really having a taste for anything.

I know I’m going through a transition of coming off a smoothie feast and trying to truly follow 80/10/10 and transitions are temporary so I’m going to keep doing my best. Since adding the vegetables back to my diet and eating more calories my elimination has gotten back to the way it was before I started the smoothie feast and I am enjoying the light feeling I have, and I’m feeling well for the most part. So although the smoothie feast didn’t heal my digestive issues as I had hoped, I am very hopeful that 80/10/10 will be a greater long term solution to my problem, so I just need to be patient, even though it’s not that easy. 🙂

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Raw Vegan, Smoothie Feast, Uncategorized

Join in the discussion

