Carob Mac Cookies

I purchased some in shell macadamia nuts at the farmer’s market a few weeks ago. I’ve been buying nuts in the shell in order to get raw nuts that haven’t been opened using heat, so that I can eat the freshest nuts possible, and so that I eat less of them since it takes work to open them. When I bought them the woman asked me if I was up for putting in the work to open them and I replied yes but I was unaware of how tough the shell is. They are a very fatty nut and since I aim to keep my fat intake under 10% of my caloric intake a day, the difficulty of opening them will help me do just that. I searched online for methods to open them and tried a few before going back to the market to ask the women who sold them to me the best way to open them. I froze them because that was supposed to weaken the shell and they seemed unchanged when trying to open them with my nut cracker, then I whacked them with a hammer. I got one open with the hammer but wasn’t really encouraged to continue with that method. The woman at the market said some use a hammer but she has a special nut cracker she sells, she opened one and let me try it and I was sold. The buttery fresh taste of the nut was amazing. After trying to open my nuts at home with the tool I still struggled until I remembered some special instructions on opening macadamias with another tool that I came across online called crack a mac where you find the white dot on the nut and a particular line on it then place the nut in the special cracker with that on the top, turn the knob and it cracks. So I tried it with the one she sold me and it still wouldn’t open, so I flipped the nut to put the white dot at the bottom and finally it opened. Mine didn’t taste as fresh as the one she let me sample so I’m not sure if its because they were frozen or because they are older. Nevertheless I did all the work to get them open and got in a good forearm workout so I made some cookies. This cookies aren’t low fat so I have to eat them in moderation but they are a special yummy treat.

2/3 cup dried mulberries
1/4 cup sprouted walnuts (can try with unsprouted)
6 zahidi dates
1/4 cup macadamia nuts
1tsp carob

Chop the macadamia nuts in the food processor, the smaller the cookies the more the nuts should be chopped. Some pieces will be more flour like and others will be larger chunks. Remove the macadamia nuts and put to the side. Process mulberries, walnuts and dates in food processor until it sticks together in the bowl to form a dough then add in carob. Hand stir in the macadamia nuts. With wet hands pick up about a spoonful of the mixture, firmly press the dough together, to form balls and then flatten into cookies.

Makes 8 mini cookies.

20130326-214533.jpg

20130326-214625.jpg

If you try this recipe please let me know how you like them.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fruit, Nuts and Seeds, Raw Vegan, Uncategorized

Join in the discussion

