Hearty Spaghetti (low fat raw vegan)

20130409-215032.jpg

1 cup sun dried tomatoes
1.5 zahidi dates
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes
2 large basil leaves
Oregano from one stem
2 Tbs water from soaked tomatoes/dates
1 Tbs water

Pasta:
2 cups zucchini
Lime juice
1 cup spinach
2 basil leaves
chopped cherry tomatoes
1/8 cup of pine nuts soaked for 10 min.

Soak the sun dried tomatoes and dates to rehydrate (you can use the same bowl of water and be sure to save 1 Tbs. of the water. Combine all sauce ingredients in food processor and process until you get the desired chunky texture. Remove the skin from zucchini (if desired) and spiralize. The spiralizer I have can be found here: Paderno World Cuisine A4982799 Tri-Blade Plastic Spiral Vegetable
Add to a bowl filled with water and some juice from a lime to soften. While the zucchini softens cut the spinach, basil, and tomatoes. Remove the zucchini from the water, add the spinach, basil, tomatoes, and sauce and toss to combine. Process the pine nuts in the food processor and top the spaghetti.

Tips:
To keep this dish truly raw use dried tomatoes that have been actually sun dried and it’s best to avoid sulfates and salt. Here is a source I found but have not used yet.
Process nuts right before serving so that it doesn’t dry out. For a crunchy topping don’t soak the pine nuts.
Spaghetti tastes even better as it sits.

About

I love to learn, and I consider myself to be a very fluid person so I enjoy taking what I learn and allowing it to make a difference in my life. My latest transformation has been eating healthier and working out. I never thought that I would be reaching for fruit when I crave something sweet and that I would actually look forward to going to the gym.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Gluten Intolerance, Raw Vegan, Uncategorized, Vegetables
4 comments on “Hearty Spaghetti (low fat raw vegan)
  1. Marla says:

    Hello it’s locbutyful from YouTube

      • Marla says:

        Just hoping I’m in right place, do I email you here? Any way the ear healed great. An acquaintance has recommended her piercer Jill so I plan to go this Thursday. Not sure I’m going to get the same thing or not.

      • Afronique says:

        I’m working on my website so actually this will be going away soon as I transfer my blog to my site. My email is the name of the blog at gmail.com. That’s great. So another ear piercing maybe or a totally different area? I’m still waiting for my jewelry to come in so I can get my conch done.

Join in the discussion

